Skapes…

So reality check for mom. Ro-u Skapes aka “Roller Skates” are back in! I’m not talking about Roller Blades…like the cool 1999 inline skates…i’m talkin a large boot on 4 wheels with an ever bigger stopper in the front! My kid is AWESOME to say the least. He does not care that all of the children in Academy are dying over the newest Rip Stick…nope; He has to have the “Skapes” in the very back row covered in dust. (Did I mention that I love him more than anything else in this world?) Seriously, he and I go on about 2 dates a week. What’s life without weekly dates with your son? Yesterday, after hearing “I want sum skapes” for about the millionth time this week” We got dressed and headed to academy. (I called first to make sure they were still being made/stocked; to my UTTER surprise…they were there? On the drive, he was singing to his favorite movie…”Cars” every once n a while throwing in the word of the day! “life is a highway..skapes…i wanna ride it all night long..like ride my skapes”…! So my laughter begins….When we get to the “things with wheels” aisle, There they were, like shining gold calling our names. I immediately start a giggling session. (For anyone who knows me, “once it starts, it don’t stop!!!”) I have a problem with laughter…this tipped the lid. By the way, it should be illegal to have floors as slick as academy’s floors are…Waxing them every night is not actually a necessity! Not good for first time skaters. Standing up presented the first problem (I did not come in the proper attire) My long dress and long necklace took a beating. After he achieved standing in one place on those things, he begged me to put on a pair. He picked the bright white with pink laces….great. I can’t even get my size off of the shelf due to my excessive laughter and holding myself. (I do not want to know what was going on in the heads of the shoppers around me, I’m still a little embarrassed typing this..hahaha) I get those darn things on and proceed to take off, thinking of how easy it was when I was 10, right? Well after flailing my arms for 5 minutes, and giving JohnDavid and all others watching the show of a lifetime, all while getting fussed at by the personnel, (who couldn’t have been over the age of 16) I decided enough was enough and packaged them back up. He wanted to stay an extra hour just wearing them in the store. So I sat and watched and held his little hand, and pushed him down the slippery slopes they call aisles before we made the big purchase. After his Big Boy Short Summer Haircut at Mrs. Tracy’s he jumped in the car and held them all the way home. He couldn’t wait to try them on at the house! He has been wearing them off and on ever since. It’s funny how my 2 1/2 year old baby boy keeps me grounded. He could careless what is in style, what looks best, or what society deems worthy. (I pray he continues this humble attitude throughout life) I have already been blessed beyond words. It ‘s the little everyday things that make me take a step back and reevaluate my own life. “What really matters? Skapes on a Monday afternoon in academy…that’s the big picture. I will love that kid for eternity!

A tribute to the Sprites…

IMG_8794

IMG_8825

IMG_8995 IMG_8993 IMG_8958 IMG_8894 IMG_8837 IMG_8881 IMG_8862IMG_8889 IMG_8911

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Skapes…

  1. Sorry, no editing on these…had to have them in the most natural form that is baby boy… (not because of the lack of time….) haha

  2. Lydia

    Emmy, PRICELESS!!!!!!!!!! He is PRECIOUS!!

  3. I’m thinking about getting some skates for my almost 4 year old – she loves skating!

    I love your photographs – so beautiful.

Leave a comment